5 Love Languages of Kids: How To Find Out What They Need From You

This post may contain affiliate links. Full privacy policy and disclosure here.

My children all have different love languages, and it is pretty clear to me which language belongs to which child but do you know which love language belongs to your child?

When I come home, my 6 year old always runs up to me and jumps into my arms. He plays with my hair and gives me all the kisses. His love language is physical touch!

As adults, we already have 5 Love Languages. We know how to express love in the ways that feel most natural to us. But what about our kids? How do we help them understand how much they are loved by their parents and other caregivers?

It’s tricky because kids don’t yet have fully developed communication skills. They don’t have the same level of vocabulary that we as adults do.

And it can be difficult to express love in a way that they will respond to and understand.

That’s why the 5 Love Languages of Kids is such an important concept.

Understanding how your child best understands and receives love will help you show them more love than ever before.

What are the 5 Love Languages for kids?

The 5 Love Languages for kids are the same 5 ways that we can express love to others.

  • Words Of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Physical Touch
  • Acts of Service

But since kids aren’t yet as verbal with their feelings, these languages are important to understand.

Most kids will have a primary Love Language they respond to most easily. And they may have a secondary language that they also understand. And a third language that they know.

There are a few different ways to find out your child’s Love Language. Since kids do best when they are part of the process, you can let them help you figure it out.

  • First, ask yourself what you’re doing to show your child love. What are your most common communication methods to your child? What do you do on a daily basis to show them you love them?
  • Next, have a conversation with your child about what love means to them. What does love look like for them? What does it feel like? What does it sound like? What does it smell like? What does it taste like? How does your child’s brain process information? What actions make them feel loved? What do they need from you to process love?
  • Next, check to see if your child has a Love Language profile on quizlet. These websites have kid-friendly Love Language quizzes to help you and your child figure out their Love Languages.
love languages for kids infographic

What Role Do Love Languages Play For Children

There are many different love languages for each person. It is important to know what your child’s primary love language is, so you can speak their language and show them how much you care.

Most children have 1 general love language, but some people have more than one, so it’s important to realize that all children are not the same. This can be very confusing for a child who may feel like they aren’t being heard or seen when they feel like they are communicating with you.

You can also help your child communicate by learning their primary love language and showing them that you understand them by speaking their love language.

All About The Different Love Languages

Words of Affirmation

Words of Affirmation are a critical part of showing your child love. Affirmation is a way of telling your child that they are loved, accepted, and appreciated. You can show your child words of affirmation in many ways.

You can tell them out loud how special they are to you. And you can write them down. You can put them in a love journal for your child that your child can read over again and again.

You can also help your child show their friends and classmates words of affirmation.

Affirmation is a language of words, so the more you and your child practice using it, the stronger it will become.

How You Can Use Words Of Affirmation:

  • Saying “I Love You”
  • Saying words of affirmations together (I am loved, I am unique, I am brave ect.)
  • Writing your child love notes in school lunches or by his bedside table
Words Of Affirmation For Kids

Quality Time

Quality Time is about being present with your child. It’s about giving your child your complete and undivided attention without distractions. It’s about being fully present with your child.

How You Can Use Quality Time:

Words Of Affirmation For Kids quality time

Receiving Gifts

A child whose love language is receiving gifts needs you to give them tangible love. They need you to show your love for them with specific gifts.

The best way to show a child receiving gifts that their love language is gifts is to give them gifts specifically for them. You can also use gifts to help your child express their feelings for others.

How To Use The Gifts Love Language:

  • Giving your child special small gifts often
  • Buying them something that fits their personality
  • Giving them a framed photo that you love
gifts affirmation

Physical Touch

A child whose love language is physical touch needs you to express your love for them with touch.

They need to feel your love physically through your hands on their skin. They need to know that you love them through your touch.

Physical touch communicates that you love your child. It lets your child know that you love them and that you care for them.

Physical touch can take many forms such as hugs, pats on the back, or a light touch on the shoulder.

It can also be expressed through a tight squeeze or a strong hug.

How To Use Physical Touch:

  • Giving a pat on the back
  • Snuggles on the couch
  • Sitting with your child on your lap
physical touch

Acts Of Service

A child whose love language is acts of service needs you to show them love by doing things for them. They need you to do things for them specifically to show your love for them.

This can look like getting them their favorite desert or folding their laundry when the dresser is empty. It doesn’t have to be complicated!

How To Use Acts Of Service:

  • Brushing their hair
  • Doing homework together
  • Making a special treat
Acts of Service


Kids thrive when they feel loved and deeply connected with us. And the best way to show them that you love them is to find out how they best understand and receive love.

By using the 5 Love Languages for kids, you can find out what each child needs from you in order to feel loved.

The 5 Love Languages for kids are the same as the 5 Love Languages for adults. They may not always be easy to identify.

But they are extremely important to know. Knowing how your child best receives love will help you show them more love than ever before.

You may also like...